Osteopathy

Anonim

Osteopathy

Osteopathy

Osteopathy

History Principles and philosophy Somatic dysfunction (osteopathic injury) The visit The treatment The techniques Fields of application of osteopathy Osteopathic training in Italy
  • History
    • Osteopathy in Europe
  • Principles and philosophy
  • Somatic dysfunction (osteopathic injury)
  • Visit
  • The treatment
  • The techniques
  • Fields of application of osteopathy
  • Osteopathic training in Italy

History

The history of osteopathy is closely related to Still's life, at least in its early stages. Still was born on August 6, 1828, in Virginia. His father, a Methodist doctor and preacher, has a strong influence on him, so much so as to push him to study medicine. Convinced of the abolitionist of slavery, he participated as a doctor in the civil war; during his life he is also interested in hypnosis and engineering. His confidence in the skills of the medicine of the time was hit hard when he saw his wife and three children die helplessly from an epidemic of meningitis: it was 1864, and from this moment Still began to study the human body more carefully., especially anatomy.

The passion for mechanics and the belief that the human being is naturally equipped with all the substances necessary for his recovery lead him to think that the best way to treat patients is to allow the body to function at its best, acting to ensure a optimal blood and lymphatic circulation and to free the nerves from any mechanical disturbance. Following this approach, Still begins to treat patients, obtaining good results. Only in 1874 he decides to give a name to this therapy (in the autobiography he writes that he "hoisted the flag of osteopathy"): he exposes his ideas in a medical university that he and his father had supported, but the reaction of the medical establishment is negative; he then began working as a wandering doctor in various cities.

In 1892 he decided to found the American School of Osteopathy (ASO) in the city where he lives, Kirksville, Missouri. The first class consists of five women and sixteen men and the course lasts a few months. In the following years, enrollments will increase considerably, as will the duration of the courses, which will shortly reach two years.

In 1897, Still's students founded the American Association for the Advancement of Osteopathy (AAAO), now known as the American Osteopathy Association (AOA); in that same year Still wrote his autobiography. Given the progress of the students, he gradually leaves the teaching and writes three other books, The philosophy of osteopathy, Osteopathy: research and practice and Philosophy and mechanical principles of osteopathy; died on December 12, 1917, at the age of 89.

In 1952 the American Osteopathy Association was recognized by the United States Department of Health as the accredited association for osteopathic medical training. Currently osteopathic education in America is equivalent to medical education, with the only difference that students also learn osteopathic principles and techniques. The qualification obtained is the degree in Osteopathy, DO (Doctor of Osteopathy).

Go back to the menu


Osteopathy in Europe

The first European nation to accept osteopathy, at the beginning of the twentieth century, was Great Britain: here the first osteopaths created, in 1911, the British Osteopathic Association. In 1917 John Martin Littlejohn, a former ASO teacher, founded the British School of Osteopathy, which, after decades of attempts, finally gained recognition in 1993.

Also in France osteopathy arrives early, but begins to spread only in the sixties of the last century, above all thanks to physiotherapists; recently it has also been recognized officially. Especially in France, the foundations were laid for the spread of osteopathy in other European countries, including Italy in the eighties: here the first graduates formed in 1989 the Register of Italian Osteopaths (ROI).

Go back to the menu

Osteopathie | Einblicke 2020

Anonim

Osteopathie

Osteopathie

Osteopathie

Anamnese Grundlagen und Philosophie Somatische Dysfunktion (osteopathische Verletzung) Der Besuch Die Behandlung Die Techniken Anwendungsgebiete der Osteopathie Osteopathisches Training in Italien
  • Die Geschichte
    • Osteopathie in Europa
  • Prinzipien und Philosophie
  • Somatische Dysfunktion (osteopathische Verletzung)
  • Der Besuch
  • Die Behandlung
  • Die Techniken
  • Anwendungsgebiete der Osteopathie
  • Osteopathisches Training in Italien

Die Geschichte

Die Geschichte der Osteopathie ist zumindest im Anfangsstadium eng mit Still verwandt. Still wurde am 6. August 1828 in Virginia geboren. Sein Vater, ein Arzt und methodistischer Prediger, hat einen starken Einfluss auf ihn, so dass er gezwungen ist, Medizin zu studieren. Von der Abschaffung der Sklaverei überzeugt, nahm er als Arzt am Bürgerkrieg teil. Während seines Lebens interessiert er sich auch für Hypnose und Technik. Sein Vertrauen in die Fähigkeiten der Medizin der damaligen Zeit wurde hart getroffen, als er seine Frau und drei Kinder hilflos an einer Meningitis-Epidemie sterben sah: Es war 1864 und von diesem Moment an begann Still, den menschlichen Körper genauer zu untersuchen., insbesondere die Anatomie.

Die Leidenschaft für die Mechanik und der Glaube, dass der Mensch von Natur aus mit allen für seine Genesung notwendigen Substanzen ausgestattet ist, veranlassen ihn zu der Annahme, dass die beste Art der Behandlung für den Patienten darin besteht, dem Körper die bestmögliche Funktionsweise zu ermöglichen und zu gewährleisten, dass a optimale Durchblutung und Lymphzirkulation und Befreiung der Nerven von mechanischen Störungen. Nach diesem Ansatz beginnt Still, Patienten zu behandeln und erzielt gute Ergebnisse. Erst 1874 beschließt er, dieser Therapie einen Namen zu geben (in der Autobiographie schreibt er, dass er "die Flagge der Osteopathie hisste"): Er enthüllt seine Ideen an einer medizinischen Universität, die er und sein Vater unterstützt hatten, aber die Reaktion der medizinischen Einrichtung ist negativ; Anschließend arbeitete er als Wanderarzt in verschiedenen Städten.

1892 beschloss er, die American School of Osteopathy (ASO) in der Stadt zu gründen, in der er lebt, in Kirksville, Missouri. Die erste Klasse besteht aus fünf Frauen und sechzehn Männern und der Kurs dauert einige Monate. In den folgenden Jahren werden die Einschreibungen erheblich zunehmen, ebenso wie die Dauer der Kurse, die in Kürze zwei Jahre erreichen wird.

Im Jahr 1897 gründeten die Studenten von Still die American Association for Advancement of Osteopathy (AAAO), die heute als American Osteopathy Association (AOA) bekannt ist. Noch im selben Jahr schrieb Still seine Autobiographie. Angesichts der Fortschritte der Schüler verlässt er nach und nach die Lehre und schreibt drei weitere Bücher: Die Philosophie der Osteopathie, Osteopathie: Forschung und Praxis sowie Philosophie und mechanische Prinzipien der Osteopathie; starb am 12. Dezember 1917 im Alter von 89 Jahren.

1952 wurde die American Osteopathy Association vom US-Gesundheitsministerium als akkreditierte Vereinigung für osteopathische medizinische Ausbildung anerkannt. Derzeit entspricht die osteopathische Ausbildung in Amerika der medizinischen Ausbildung, mit dem einzigen Unterschied, dass die Schüler auch osteopathische Prinzipien und Techniken erlernen. Die erreichte Qualifikation ist der Abschluss in Osteopathie, DO (Doctor of Osteopathy).

Gehen Sie zurück zum Menü

Osteopathie in Europa

Die erste europäische Nation, die zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts Osteopathie akzeptierte, war Großbritannien: Hier gründeten die ersten Osteopathen 1911 die British Osteopathic Association. 1917 gründete John Martin Littlejohn, ein ehemaliger ASO-Lehrer, die British School of Osteopathy, die nach jahrzehntelangen Versuchen 1993 endlich Anerkennung fand.

Auch in Frankreich setzt die Osteopathie früh ein, breitet sich aber erst in den sechziger Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts aus, vor allem dank Physiotherapeuten; vor kurzem wurde es auch offiziell anerkannt. Vor allem in Frankreich wurde der Grundstein für die Verbreitung der Osteopathie in anderen europäischen Ländern gelegt, darunter in Italien in den achtziger Jahren: Hier bildeten die ersten Absolventen 1989 das Register der italienischen Osteopathen (ROI).

Gehen Sie zurück zum Menü